Postgraduate Diploma in E-Government


The Postgraduate Institute of Management (PIM) designed, at the request of the ICTA, a program of training to enhance the capacity of Chief Innovation Officers, appointed by the Government, to fulfill the role of Change Agent in line with the decisions of the Administrative Reforms Council, chaired by the Secretary to the President.

The first phase of the program has been implemented, and in response to a request by the ICTA and the participants themselves, an additional program has been launched as second phase to upgrade the training to postgraduate diploma level, by adding more credits, in line with the academic requirements of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura.

The entire e-Government Program is sponsored by the ICTA under a World Bank financing arrangement.


Hundred participants for the Pg.D. Program were drawn, on first-come first enrolled basis, from those who have completed the e-Government Diploma Program (Phase 1) and attained the required 10 credits to pursue the second phase, the Postgraduate Diploma.

The Delivery Approach

The course delivery approach is blended learning (face-to-face sessions and online delivery) as applied in the last CIO Program. Each course module is covered in 03 interactive Group Learning Sessions. There are 7 new course modules under the Pg.D. program.

Credit Structure

University regulations require 20 credits to be obtained for a Postgraduate diploma. The Pg.D. program is thus structured as follows.

Summary of Credit requirement

Credit requirement Credits
Phase 1
Required Courses 6
Comprehensive Exams 2
Project Paper 2
Total Phase 1 10
Phase 2
Required Courses 6
Comprehensive Exams 2
Project Paper 2
Total Phase 2 10
Phase 1 and 2 20